Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov (Russian: Алексе́й Алексе́евич Абрико́сов) studied under Lev Landau in the former Soviet Union and predicted the existence of type-II superconductivity in 1957. He has given many other contributions to condensed matter physics and was awarded the 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics. He was born in Moscow, Russia (June 25th, 1928) and has recently passed away in Sunnyvale, California, USA (March 30th, 2017).

The International Workshop in Vortex Matter on Superconductors is proud to award distinguished scientists for their contribution to the field of VORTEX PHYSICS with a prize in his honor.

The Abrikosov Prize

The international Abrikosov Prize aims at recognizing outstanding achievements in the basic science of vortex behavior and correlated topics.

Previous prize awards demonstrate the importance of the field of superconducting vortex physics. The Prize winners will be presented at the International Workshop on Vortex Matter in Superconductors and will deliver the Abrikosov Prize lecture.

The call for nominations for the 2017 Abrikosov prize is open. Deadline (extended) is the 14th of April 2017. Nominations should be sent by email to vortex2017(at) with the title “Nomination for Abrikosov prize VORTEX2017” and include:

– A letter of not more than 5000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

– A CV.

– A list with the five most important publications.

– At least one, but not more than two, seconding letters.

The 2017 Selection Committee members can be seen in Committees. The decision will be taken at end of April and announced during the workshop.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2003
Alexei A. Abrikosov, Vitaly L. Ginzburg, Anthony J. Leggett

Alexei A. Abrikosov
Alexei A. Abrikosov (1928-2017)